Greyhound

I have loved greyhounds for as long as I can remember.  I started going to Dairyland race track in Kenosha when I was in college and continued to go there until it closed.  They have a grace and elegance like no other dog, and to watch them run is a beautiful sight.  I adopted Holly about 4 1/2 years ago after she was retired from racing and we have been inseparable ever since.  I realized recently that over the years, I haven’t taken many photos of her (other than Instagram).  That will change.

I’ve always liked the work of Sally Mann.  It has an amazing emotional quality that too few photographers possess in their work.  When I was watching a documentary on her project “What Remains” I saw she had six or seven greyhounds in her house.  I knew there was another reason I liked her so much!

Holly at home 2012

 

Leave a Reply

