Love your hood

It was probably some of the strangest graffiti I’ve seen – a turkey wishing a Happy Thanksgiving next to “Love your hood” spray painted on the side of a building near some projects in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn.  When people find out I live in Bed-Stuy, the first response is always “….uhh, the scary part?”  No.  But then, I don’t find Bed-Stuy to be “scary.”  This is my home.  I know all my neighbors.  Kids come running down the block to pet my dog when we’re out for a walk.  The guys at the bodega are almost like family.  I’ve walked home at 2am without issue.

It doesn’t have the pricey, trendy real estate of Williamsburg, or have the cache in the art world as Bushwick.  I do get mildly annoyed that I get excluded from some things, simply because I don’t live in Bushwick.  But I’m not moving there just because every artist in New York already has.  I love MY hood.

Delivery truck dropping off at a corner bodega

Delivery truck dropping off at a corner bodega

love your hood

love your hood

philosophical auto repair

philosophical auto repair

Broadway

Broadway

 

Leave a Reply

