North Avenue

I don’t think it’s still deja vu if you know for certain you have been somewhere before.  I drove in and out of Chicago today via North Avenue.  I know I’ve done this, or at least made parts of this drive before, many years ago.  I remember North Avenue and most of what I drove past today quite vividly.  But what I can’t place at all, is what I was doing or why I had to make this drive years ago.

rearview North Ave

rearview North Ave

Was it for work?  Did I have friends who lived near? Was it a shortcut?  Some obscure restaurant?

Austin Car

Austin Car

A whole series of questions ran through my head and I didn’t have an answer to any of them.  I know I’ve driven this road enough times for it to still be very familiar, and I could not figure out why.  I used to live near Chicago Ave. and Western Ave., so it’s conceivable I would have traveled frequently on North Ave., but I didn’t own a car then.  Maybe I took a cab then.  But it still doesn’t answer the “why” part.  Who or what was there?  I don’t know any more.

North Avenue far west side

North Avenue far west side

 

It just bothers me that I can’t remember these things at all.  But I vividly remember this road for some reason.

homeless person walking through traffic asking for spare change

homeless person walking through traffic asking for spare change

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

