The Savanna, The Silo, and The Oak Tree

It’s humid.  I forgot how humid it gets during the summer in Illinois and I hate it.  I miss the aridity of Colorado and New Mexico.  New York is humid (especially in August), but not like this.  This is oppressive humidity.  The air is heavy.  It weighs on you.  Of course, as I write this, I am sitting inside an air conditioned Starbucks.

Nelson Lake and the marsh

Nelson Lake and the marsh

I can’t help but overhear the two men next to me talking about “making high six figures” and their careers selling insurance products.  Then there is the buying of multiple houses, a Lexus, and various other “necessities.”  The younger man in his twenties sports a horrible looking dress shirt with monogrammed french cuffs.  Does a monogrammed cuff still impress anyone?  In fifteen years this man will be Lumbergh, right down to the suspenders, mmmmkay.

The marsh through the trees

The marsh through the trees

Their world is not one I can relate to, and never could.  Back when I did the “corporate type” job, I used to get asked why I hadn’t bought a BMW yet, since it would “look more successful” than what I was driving.  Because I didn’t need one and didn’t have any particular desire to have one.  That said, I do love a fine motor car, and if I had the resources I would buy a Ferrari 308 in a New York Minute.  Hey, who wouldn’t want the Magnum P.I. Ferrari?

the savanna

the savanna

But these things don’t matter.  Not in the least.  For the moment it’s just the savanna, the silo, and the oak tree.

The Savanna, The Silo, and The Oak Tree

The Savanna, The Silo, and The Oak Tree

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “The Savanna, The Silo, and The Oak Tree

  1. Nice post David. I’ve got an old (15 yr) Toyota, but if I was really wealthy I’d buy a vintage Mercedes convertible from the 1960s, or maybe a Jaguar XJS. Totally impractical, and way down on my list… The beauty of the sky, clouds and nature is free for everyone!

Leave a Reply

